Tanter Mickael

Tanter Mickael

Director of Physics for Medicine Paris
Research director at Inserm (DRCE)
ResearcherID: H-4657-2012
ORCID: 0000-0001-7739-8051
See the ResearchGate profile >


  • 2004 – “Habilitation à Diriger des Recherches”, Université Paris Diderot, France
  • 1999 – PhD in Physics, Université Paris Diderot, France
    “Application of time reversal focusing to brain HIFU treatments”
  • 1994 – Master of Science in Acoustics, Université Paris Diderot, France
  • 1994 – Electrical engineering degree at Supélec (Ecole Supérieure d’Electricité), France

Professional experience

  • since 2019 – Director of Institute Physics for Medicine Paris (Inserm u1273, CNRS UMR 8063) at ESPCI Paris
  • 2008-2018 – Director of Inserm U979 “Wave Physics for Medicine”, a research  unit within Institut Langevin, Paris, France
  • 2009-2018 – Deputy director of Institut Langevin, Paris, France
  • since 2005 – Tenured research director, Inserm, Paris, France
  • 2000-2005 – Tenured research officer, CNRS, Paris, France

Activities and Responsabilities

  • Director of the Institute of Physics for Medicine Paris (Inserm U1273, CNRS UMR 8063, ESPCI Paris)
  • Director of the Accelerator of Technology Research (A.R.T. Inserm) in Biomedical Ultrasound
  • Deputy Director of the Langevin Institute (CNRS UMR7587) from 2014 to 2019
  • Co-Founder, Share Holder and Advisor of SUPERSONIC IMAGINE inc. (200 employees)
  • Co-Founder and Shareholder of SEISME inc. (licencing the exclusive world patent of Fibroscan®)
  • Co-Founder and Shareholder of CARDIAWAVE inc. in 2015
  • Co-Founder and Shareholder of ICONEUS inc. in 2017
  • Member of the Administration Board of European Society of Molecular Imaging
  • Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions of Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics and Frequency Control
  • Member of the Scientific Board of Region Ile de France 2011-2015
  • Member of the Scientific Board of Caviskills company 2013-2014
  • Member of the Scientific Board of IEEE UFFC since 2009
  • Elected Member of the Administrative board of IEEE UFFC 2012-2015
  • Member of the Inserm Commission CSS8 (2012-2016)
  • Member of the Brain Advisory Board of the Focused Ultrasound Foundation (2009-2012)
  • Invited to give more than 120 invited talks and plenary lectures in international conferences
  • Co-invented more than 50 patents in the field of biomedical engineering
  • Co-authored more than 350 publications in peer-reviewed international journals
  • ISI Web of Knowledge : h-Index 73, > 20 000 citations / Google Scholar : h-Index 86, > 30 000 citations
  • Participation to more than 100 jurys for national or international PhD defense

Main awards and distinctions

  • since 2019 – Member of the European Academy of Sciences
  • since 2019 – Fellow of the European Alliance for Medical and Biological Engineering & Science
  • 2018 – Grand Prize of the European Society for Molecular Imaging
  • 2017 – Britton Chance Distinguished Lecture of the World Society for Molecular Imaging, USA
  • 2017 – Carl Hellmuth Hertz Award of the IEEE society for Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics and Frequency Control
  • since 2016 – Distinguished Professor of ESPCI Paris
  • 2016 – Grand Prix of the French Foundation for Medical Research
  • 2015 – Grand Prize of the Fondation NRJ, Institut de France, French Academy of Science
  • 2015 – Distinguished Lecture in Biomedical Engineering of CalTech university
  • 2015 – Carson-Zagzebski Distinguished Lecture of the American Association of Physics in Medicine
  • 2015 – Research Prize of Langlois Foundation, Paris, France
  • 2014 – Roberts Prize of Physics in Medicine and Biology for the best paper of the year
  • Prize OPECST-INSERM 2014 (French National Institute of Health and Medical Research)
  • Laureate of an ERC Advanced Grant in 2013 (most competitive scientific grants in Europe)
  • 2012 – Grand Prize of Medicine and Medical Research Jean Hamburger of Paris city
  • 2012 – Honored Lecture of the Radiology Society of North America, USA
  • 2011 – Prize Yves Rocard of the French Society of Physics (S.F.P.)
  • 2011 – Sylvia Sorkin Greenfield Award of the American Association of Physicists in Medicine for the best paper published in Medical Physics
  • 2010 – Montgolfier Prize of the Société d’Encouragement de l’Industrie Nationale (French National Society for the National Industry promotion)
  • 2010 – Leon Brillouin Prize of the S.E.E. and I.E.E.E. societies.
  • 2010 – Outstanding Paper Award of the international journal IEEE Transactions in Ultrasonics
  • 2009 – Frederic Lizzi Early Career Prize of the International Society of Therapeutic Ultrasound in 2009

Main publications

Latest publications